Ocean to City An Rás Mór Results are in!

Pic: Clare Keogh

THE River Lee was filled with colour, excitement and drama with over 30 different types of boats all competing in Ocean to City – An Rás Mór on Saturday 10 June.

Ireland’s premier rowing race had to make a significant course change last week due to the high winds predicted for Saturday, and the resultant Sheltered River Race was a resounding success. 

Joya Kuin, Festival Manager said, “We were all put to the test this year having to change the race route at such short notice to the Sheltered River Course, due to weather conditions. Luckily our team of volunteers and supporters all rose to the challenge and succeeded in delivering not just a safe event – but also one that was challenging, competitive and enjoyable for all our participants. The atmosphere was absolutely electric at the finish line and it was fantastic to see so many happy faces after the tough race.”

Over 600 participants in 200 boats took to the water at Port of Cork to race a river route along the north shore to Blackrock Castle, and passing back on the southern shore along the Marina to the finish Line at Lapp’s Quay, with most boats doing two laps.  Crews participated across a range of classes, from juniors to veteran participants; rowers and paddlers from all over Ireland, England, Wales, The Netherlands and the US. Competition was intense due to the confined space of the course, which added to the excitement and enjoyment for spectators and participants alike.

Ocean to City – An Rás Mór, the flagship event of Cork Harbour Festival is organised by Meitheal Mara, the community boatyard, training centre and charity located in the heart of Cork City. The Festival is sponsored by Cork City Council, Cork County Council, Port of Cork, Failte Ireland and MaREI, and made possible with the help of dozens of Event Partners and hundreds of volunteers.

Full Summary of Results for The Sheltered River Course 2017 – Ocean to City – An Rás Mor

  • 2-hd Currachs (single lap) – 1st Prize: 100, Brandon, Siog   
  • 3-hd Currachs (single lap) – 1st Prize: 105, Meitheal, Bádoireacht | Meitheal Mara          
  • 3-hd Currachs (double lap) – 1st Prize: 8, West Clare Currach Club, Orca      
  • 4-hd Naomhóga – 1st Prize & Cían Ó Sé Memorial Trophy:  17, Naomhóga Chorcaí, NC Noamhóg Workshop      
  • 4-hd Naomhóga – 2nd Prize & Never Again Prize: 16, Naomhóga Chorcaí, Saints and Sinners
  • East Coast Racing Skiffs – 1st Prize: 27, Bray Rowing Club, Bri Chualann      
  • East Coast Racing Skiffs – 1st Female Crew: 25, Dalkey Rowing Club, Dalkey/Leary 
  • St Ayles Skiffs – 1st Prize: 33, Dundrum Coastal Rowing Club, Tonn Ruray   
  • Thames Waterman Cutters – 1st Prize: 57, Port of London Authority, Plashers B (UK)
  • Celtic Longboats – 1st Prize & 1st Veteran: 70, Aberdyfi Rowing Club, Aberdyfi Mens  (UK)
  • Celtic Longboats – 2nd Prize & 1st Mixed: 65, Madog Yacht Club, Mad Dogs On Speed (UK)
  • ICRF One-Designs – 1st Prize & 1st Veteran: 80, Templenoe Rowing Club, Unlimited
  • ICRF One-Design – 2nd Prize: 78, Passage West Rowing Club           
  • ICRF One-Designs – 1st Female/Mixed: 72, Kilmacabea Rowing Club, Kilmacabea Record Breakers             
  • Sliding-Seat Singles – 1st Prize: 50, Albert O’Sullivan-Greene, Castletownbere Rowing Club
  • Quad Sliding-Seat Boats – 1st Prize: 85, Bantry Rowing club             
  • Dragon Boats – 1st Prize: 89, Kaag Dragons (The Netherlands)        
  • Dragon Boats – 1st Breast Cancer Survivor Crew:  88, Suir Dragons & Nore Dragons              
  • Boat Builder of the Day: 45, Martin Murphy, Passage West Rowing Club    
  • Boat of the Day – Charlie Hennessy Cup: 92, ‘’Lily’’, Flesk Valley RC
  • Community Boat Build Prize: 28, St Michaels Rowing Club, St Michaels Mens Crew 
  • Meitheal Mara Challenge Cup: 97, An Doras Dearg, Bádoireacht | Meitheal Mara  
  • Most Unconventional Route Prize: 68, Madog Yacht Club, Mad Dogs On Tour (UK) 
  • Special Endeavour Award: 108, Blackrock Rowing Club Junior Crew, Team Passage
  • SUP – 1st Prize – #372 – Dermot Twomey
  • Sit-on-top (single Lap), 1st Prize / 1st Veteran, #392 Chris Coady
  • Sit-on-top (single Lap) 2nd Prize / 2nd Veteran #561 Jonathan Foley
  • Sit-on-top (Single Lap) 3rd  Prize / Veteran #523 John O’Mahony
  • Sit-on-top (Single Lap) 1st Female / 1st Veteran Female #504 Aine Nugent
  • Expedition Kayak (Single Lap) 1st Prize #537 Liam Holland
  • Expedition Kayak (Single Lap) 2nd Prize / 1st Veteran #534 Nigel Ducker
  • Expedition Kayak (Single Lap) 3rd Prize / 2nd Veteran #260 Robert Wilkes
  • Expedition Kayak (Single Lap) 3rd Veteran #205 Garrett Casey
  • Expedition Kayak (Single Lap) 1st Female #531 Tracey Coughlan
  • Double Kayak (Single Lap) 1st Prize #906 John Harrington
  • Expedition Kayak (Double Lap 1st Prize / 1st Veteran #326 Tomas Walsh
  • Expedition Kayak (Double Lap) 2nd Prize #315 Adam Kennedy
  • Expedition Kayak (Double Lap) 3rd Prize / 2nd Veteran #334 Chris McDaid
  • Expedition Kayak (Double Lap) 3rd Veteran #304 Paul Holland
  • Expedition Kayak (Double Lap) 1st Female #329 Heather Clarke
  • Expedition kayak (Double Lap) 2nd Female #299 Sinead Frawley
  • Unlimited Kayak (Double Lap) 1st Prize #348 Dermot Hudson
  • Unlimited kayak (Double Lap) 2nd Prize #357 Paul Russell
  • Unlimited Kayak (Double Lap) 3rd Prize #351 Jim Morrissey
  • Double Kayak (Double Lap) 1st Prize #904 Ronan O’Connor