Kilmeen & Kilbree GAA Club Notes

Junior Football

The second football team played the championship semi-final against Kilmacabea in Leap, on Saturday night. In horrendous weather conditions, this was always going to be a low scoring affair. While Kilmeen were a point ahead at half-time, Kilmacabea finished stronger. The final score was Kilmacabea 0-8 Kilmeen 0-7.

Minor Hurling

Kilbree minor hurlers played their championship semi-final replay on Thursday, in Ahiohill. Both sides traded scores for much of the first half. Cathal Daly, Brian Deasy, Thomas Tyner, David O’Regan and Jack Muphy providing Kilbree’s scores. The sides were level at half time. The half-time score was Kilbree 1-5 Clonakilty 1-5.

The Kilbree backs were superb in the second half and Clonakilty managed to score a single point, in this half. A David O’Regan goal set Kilbree up nicely. Thomas Tyner, Darren Frazer, Brian Deasy and Jack Murphy all scored points. Kilbree finished strongly to qualify for the West Cork final against Newcestown. The final score was Kilbree 2-12 Clonakilty 1-6.

The West Cork final was played on Monday night, in Ballinascarthy. The first half was a tight affair. Thomas Tyner’s free taking was outstanding. Thomas scored two great goals before half-time. A Newcestown goal, just before half-time, gave them the edge. The half-time score was Kilbree 2-6 Newcestown 2-9.

Newcestown pushed on in the second half. Kilbree’s backs coped very well with some incredible pressure. The final score was Newcestown 2-21 Kilbree 2-10. Kilbree now progress to a county quarter-final in the coming weeks.

Team: Harry Oates, Thomas O’Sullivan, Jack Kingston, Conor Hurley, Thomas Beese, Jamie O’Donovan, Cian Murphy, Brian Deasy, Jamie Santry, Cathal Daly, Thomas Tyner, David O’Regan, Jack Murphy, Sean McCarthy and Ray Shanahan.

Subs: Killian O’Driscoll, Darren Fraser, Cathal Dineen, Sean Crowley, Mark Keohane, Kieran O’Sullivan, Eoin McCarthy, Eamonn Shanahan and Paul Lyons.


Kilbree U16’s welcomed Causeway to Rossmore on Saturday. There are two Kerry teams in the U16 county championship and Kilbree drew Causeway, in round one. In terrible wet conditions, both sides were evenly matched in the first half. The half time score was Kilbree 2-2 Causeway 1-2. Kilbree dominated in the second half. Scores by Grace McCarthy, Caoimhe Murphy and Mairead Crowley ensured Kilbree would progress in the championship. The final score was Kilbree 3-6 Causeway 1-2.

Team: Heather Brimble, Rebecca Hurley, Kate O’Donovan, Jessica O’Driscoll, Sarah O’Donovan, Maeve O’Neill, Emily O’Donovan, Mairead Crowley, Leanne Sheehy, Aife O’Neill, Caoimhe Murphy, Mary Murphy, Sinead O’Sullivan, Alice O’Donovan, Rachel Deasy, Grace McCarthy, Deirdre Nyhan, Cara Collins and Alison Collins.

U12 Hurling

The U12 hurlers lost out to Newcestown on Monday last, in the cup semi-final. They now play Ahan Gaels in the plate final in the coming week.

U10 Football

The U10 footballers played a thrilling match against St James in Ardfield, on Wednesday night. This was a high scoring affair, the Kilmeen boys just came out on top in the final quarter.

Team: Ruairi O’Sullivan, Mark Collins, Howard O’Donovan, Tim Bailey, Oisin Harrington, Rory McCarthy, Ben Barry, Olan Murphy, Joe Barry, Jason Murray, Donnacha Keohane, William Young, James Scannell, Tadhg O’Neill Callanan and Rory Twohig.

The U10 hurlers welcomed Argideen Rangers to Rossmore, on Saturday morning. Both sides have played some very close matches in recent times. On this occasion the Timoleague boys were victorious.

Team: Tadhg O’Neill Callanan, Tim Bailey, Mark Collins, Howard O’Donovan, Rory McCarthy, Shane Clancy, Olan Murphy, Oisin Harrington, Joe Barry, Ben Barry, Jason Murray, Ruairi O’Sullivan, Donnacha Keohane, James Scannell, William Young and Ronan Scannell.

U8 Football

The U8 footballers played a blitz in Ardfield on Saturday morning. They played exceptionally well against Barryroe, Sam Maguires and Ballinascarthy.

Well done to everyone involved.

Team: Cillian Dunne, James Callanan, Sean McCarthy, Gearoid Collins, Tristan O’Driscoll, Jonathan Bennett, Tadhg O’Brien, John Callanan, Rory Twohig, Ciaran Harrington, Darragh Collins, Byron Malone, Leah McCarthy and Aaron Murphy.


There was no winner of this week’s lotto jackpot. The numbers drawn were 25, 28 and 40. The lucky dip winners were Fachtna McCarthy, Dylan O’Callaghan and O’Driscoll’s Bar. Next week’s jackpot will be €1,500.


Thanks to Kilmeen Drama Group for putting on their hilarious play “Out of Order” as a fundraiser for our club, on Friday last. The night was a huge success. Thanks to everybody who supported this great night.