GalleyFlash U12: Sinead O’Connor, Ian O’Keeffe, Gary Lombard and Alison Taylor with Cox Barry Hooper

While it’s still the middle of June and the schools are still open, the 2012 SWCYRA Rowing Championship begins this weekend, with Baltimore hosting the first round of the championship on Sunday afternoon.

The GalleyFlash Rowing club will be hoping to build on the fantastic achievements of last season and get the new season off to winning start. In the build up to the new season the final pre-season fun regatta was hosted by Rosscarbery Rowing  Club on Sunday evening. Another  fine showing by the Galley crews on the evening  revealed the potential within the club. Star performers for the club were the young U12 crew, , other medal winners  on the evening were the U12 beginners and the Men’s crew.

The Galley crews at Rosscarbery were:-  U 16 Ladies: Sioned Miles, Eimear O’Keeffe, Roisin O’Brien and Zoe Taylor. U12: Alison Taylor, Gary Lombard, Ian O’Keeffe and Sinead O’Connor. U12 Beginners: Daniel O’Brien, Alison Taylor, Ian O’Keeffe and Rory O’Connor. U14 Ladies: Claire McCarthy, Aoife O’Keeffe Ruby Sullivan and Orla O’Driscoll. U16: John Carroll, Nicky O’Hea, Zoe Taylor and Daniel O’Sullivan. U18: Ciara Rahilly, Nicky O’Hea, John Carroll and Catherine McCarthy

Ladies: Niamh Hayes, MaryAnn McCarthy, Ciara Rahilly and Imelda O’Keeffe. Men: Karl McCarthy, Danny Hayes, Dave McCarthy and Ricky Cleary. Coxes: Lisa Hayes, Barry Hooper and Niamh Hayes.