LisaNíDhoinnléibhe1BALLINGEARY’S Lisa Ní Dhoinnléibhe was among the prizewinners recently announced by Liam Ó Maolaodha, director of Oireachtas na Gaeilge, at the prestigious Oireachtas na Gaeilge Literary Competitions in Croke Park.

Prizes were awarded to both established and aspiring writers in the Irish language at the ceremony.

The annual Oireachtas na Gaeilge Literary Competitions are the most esteemed awards for Irish language writers.

All genres of Irish language literature are featured with over 15 categories including fiction, short stories, song writing and journalism.


Amongst the other winners this year was Donegal poet Cathal Ó Searcaigh who won a prize for the best poetry compilation with ‘Aimsir Ársa’, Majella Ní Dhomhnaill and Rónán Mac Con Iomaire came in joint first place in the best new writer category and the well-known poet Liam Ó Muirthile scooped first place in the prose category for his piece ‘An Colm Bán’.


“New ideas, creativity and debate are needed now more than ever and literature is a perfect way to facilitate that and inspire imagination” says Liam Ó Maolaodha, Director of Oireachtas na Gaeilge. “These awards are about enabling Irish language writers to express themselves and to engage their public. Oireachtas na Gaeilge is delighted to continue to support these awards” he said.


Áine Ní Ghlinn took away two awards on the night winning first prize in the Fiction for Young People category as well as second prize for her drama ‘Scéal na Nollag’. Orna Ní Choileáin and Mícheál Ó Ruairc also came out tops for their fiction pieces.


‘Nochtadh na Fírinne’ by Bríd Dáibhís won first prize in the short story category whilst Aodh Ó Domhnaill continued his winning streak with first prize for his Agallamh Beirte ‘Lá Spóirt’; bringing his total number of Oireachtas Literary awards to nine. Proinsias Mac a’ Bhaird and Dominic Mac Giolla Bhríde teamed up to win the award for best Song Composition.


Young writers from around the country were also present at the awards ceremony to accept prizes in the young people’s categories including short stories and journalism.


The Oireachtas na Gaeilge Literary Competitions, in their 116th year, are the most prestigious Irish language literary competitions in the country. Previous winners include some of Ireland’s most celebrated authors including Pádraig Mac Piarais, Máirtín Ó Cadhain and Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill.