SWCYRA & Cork County Champions, GalleyFlash Senior Ladies Niamh Hayes, Lisa Hayes, Donna Burke and Laura Connolly.

AS the 2012 rowing comes to a conclusion this weekend with the All-Ireland Finals in Broadstrand, Courtmacsherry, last Sunday saw the conclusion of the Celtic Ross sponsored SWCYRA Championship.

With the five rounds of this West Cork Championship complete the medal winners have been determined and the GalleyFlash have a fine haul of silverware on its way to Ardfield-Rathbarry.


Top of the pile as far as the Galley are concerned are the superb Senior Ladies crew of Niamh Hayes, Lisa Hayes, Donna Burke and Laura Connolly, who with Julie Harrington at the helm, claimed victory in their race. This ensured they are now SWCYRA Senior Ladies Champions 2012, of course this is their second major title as they are also County Champions.



Other Galley crews due to collect medals at the Awards ceremony for the SWCYRA Championship will be Intermediate Men (Silver):- Danny Hayes, Mark O’Brien, Karl McCarthy and Dave McCartyh.

Junior Men (Silver):- Micheal Harrington, Ger Cullinane, Ricky Cleary and Paddy Harrington.

Senior Men (Silver):- John Harrington, Sean Keohane, Paul Deasy and Barry Hooper.

Under 12 Ladies (Bronze):- Alison Taylor, Laura Ahern, Anais O’Donovan and Sinead O’Connor.

Under 14 Ladies (Bronze):- Claire McCarthy, Keri Ahern, Aoife O’Keeffe and Fiona Tobin.

Junior Ladies (Bronze):- Mary Ann McCarthy, Catherine McCarthy, Ciara Rahilly and Fiona Connolly.

Senior Mixed (Bronze):- Niamh Hayes, Barry Hooper, Paul Deasy and Fiona Connolly.



The Galley crews on Sunday unfortunate to miss out (four of these crews finishing fourth in Championship) were:

Under 12:- Gary Lombard, Ian O’Keeffe, Daniel O’Brien and Rory O’Connor.

Under 14:- Claire McCarthy, Laura Ahern, Anna Duggan and Ruby Sullivan.

Under 16 Ladies (Third on Sunday):- Sioned Miles, Eimear O’Keeffe, Zoe Taylor and Roisin O’Brien.

Under 16:- John Carroll, Sean O’Connor, Adam Ahern and Daniel O’Sullivan.

Under 18 Ladies:- Marie Tobin, Catherine McCarthy, Ciara Rahilly and Danielle Hayes.

Under 18:- Thomas Douglas, John Carroll, Adam Ahern and Daniel O’Sullivan.

Pre Vet Ladies:- Julie Harrington, Imelda O’Keeffe, Ellen Mae Ahern and Joanne Taylor.

Vet Ladies:- Breeda Hayes, Bernie O’Donovan, Mary Collins and Joanne Taylor.



The coxes on Sunday without whom any of this success would not have been possible were: Julie Harrington, Micheal Harrington, Paddy Harrington, Lisa Hayes, Niamh Hayes and Barry Hooper.



So back to the big one, 20 crews will represent the GalleyFlash over the weekend, while the club also have crews entered in the exhibition Cork Yawl races on Friday evening.

The first crew to take to the water will be the Veteran Ladies in their semi-final at 07.30 on Saturday morning while the last crew will be the Senior Men in their final on Sunday evening sometime after 17.00 .

In between a total of 65 races will be run and another chapter in the history of the GalleyFlash will be written.

Live updates will be available on the GalleyFlash facebook page HERE and on #galleyflash on twitter.