GalleyFlash Rowing Club Notes

Winners of the Ladies 2 Oar Challenge Roni Hawe, Niamh Hayes and cox Danny Hayes being presented with the cup by GalleyFlash President PatJoe Harrington

The inaugural South West Coastal Yawl Rowing Association Schools Regatta was held in Kilkern Lake on Sunday, May 21st.

This brilliant initiative was spearheaded by South West Chairman and GalleyFlash member Danny Hayes, together with South West Development Officer Margaurite Deasy, whereby national schools in the West Cork area were invited to participate. In our locality, Rathbarry National School and Lisavaird National School accepted this invitation and represented the Galley and their schools on the day.

Rathbarry National School were represented by two teams on the day. Both teams performed extremely well, finishing second in their respective races. Congratulations to Mark, Michael, Orla & Shane who represented the school on the junior team and to Cian, Daniel, Katie and Tiernan who were on the senior team.

Meanwhile, Lisavaird National School were represented by four teams on the day, winning three of these races in fine style. Representing Lisavaird National School were Sinead Kingston, Ciara Hourihane, Cait O’Mahony, Amy Elphick, Emma Elphick, Olan Murphy, James O’Keeffe, Killian Eady, Patrick McCarthy, Mary Kate Keohane, Caitlin Keating, Aisling Dooley, Lisa Hayes and Miloklay Oramus.

All crews were ably coxed by Bernie O’Donovan.

The club would like to thank our shore crew Donna, Niamh, Mary and Rachel, cox Bernie and photographer Donal for their time on the day. Also, huge thanks to all those who gave up their time on the three Wednesdays leading up to the Schools Regatta to help out with training for the pupils.

Finally, we thank the teachers and pupils of Rathbarry and Lisavaird National Schools for their participation and enthusiasm. We are so proud of your fantastic displays of rowing. 

GalleyFlash 2 Oar Challenge 2017

Despite the blustery conditions, 26 crews lined out for the 2017 2 Oar Challenge at Kilkern Lake on Sunday last, May 14th.

GalleyFlash 2 Oar Men’s crew of John Harrington, Micheál Harrington and cox Rachel Collins cross the line in first place at the 2017 2 Oar Challenge

Winners on the day were as follows:

U18 Men: James O’Donovan and Jack Conway (Ring Rowing Club)

U18 Ladies: Rachel Collins and Elise Crowley coxed by Paddy Harrington (Galleyflash Rowing Club)

Pre Vet Men: Dave Sheehy and Tim O’Donovan coxed by Carol McCarthy (Kilmacabea Rowing Club)

Pre Vet Ladies: Helen Burchill and Lucy O’Brien (Kilmacabea Rowing Club)

Vet Men: John Burchill and Pa O’Sullivan coxed by Carol McCarthy (Kilmacabea Rowing Club)

Vet Ladies: Kathy Galvin and Tina O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea Rowing Club)

Open Men: John Harrington and Micheál Harrington coxed by  Rachel Collins (GalleyFlash Rowing Club)

Open Ladies: Niamh Hayes and Roni Hawe coxed by Danny Hayes (GalleyFlash Rowing Club)

The club thanks all those who made the day a success; to Courtmacsherry Rowing Club, Kilmacsimon Rowing Club, Kilmacabea Rowing Club and Ring Rowing Club for their support, to all rowers and coxes for putting on some fantastic races, to all those who came to support and to all those who helped in any way.