Galley Flash rowing club notes

The 2017 Annual General Meeting of GalleyFlash Rowing Club was held on Sunday, January 22nd, in the Parish Hall, Rathbarry. With a large crowd in attendance the committee for the forthcoming year was elected as follows:

President: PatJoe Harrington

Vice Presidents: Fr. Pat McCarthy, Denis Hayes, Mrs. Ellie O’Donovan, Mike Feen and Bernie O’Donovan

Chairman: Donal Hayes

Secretary: Ruth Harrington

Treasurer: Sheila Hayes

Registrar: Margaret Hayes

Public Relations Officer: Sandra Hayes Buckley

Senior Club Captain: Micheál Harrington

Senior Club Coach: John Harrington

Junior Club Captain: Donna Burke

Junior Club Coach: Niamh Hayes

Child Protection Officers: Ger Cullinane and Donna Burke

Safety Officer: Jim Ahern

Club Logistics Manager: Darren Cannon

A discussion ensued recalling the achievements of the club over the past 12 months. Fr. McCarthy, in particular, paid tribute to the club for their involvement in continuing the Ardfield Rathbarry Parish Remembrance Tree initiative. A full re-cap on the 2016 season can be found on the club’s website –

The club reminds rowers that membership is now due for the forthcoming season and can be paid to club Registrar Margaret Hayes. Membership rates for the coming season are as follows:

Underage and Student: €40

Adult: €75

Family (including 1 adult rower): €120

Family (including 2 adult rowers): €150

The next meeting of the club will take place on Friday, February 10th.